Board Of Directors

Mr. M M Murugappan,


He holds a Master’s degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of Michigan, USA. He has held the position of Managing Director of CUMI in the past. Besides serving as the Chairman of CUMI, Tube Investments of India, Cholamandalam MS General Insurance Company Limited, Cholamandalam Investment and Finance Company Limited and Cholamandalam Financial Holdings Limited, he is on the Boards of several companies including Mahindra & Mahindra, IIT Madras Research Park and Cyient. Mr. Murugappan was elected as a fellow of the Indian Ceramic Society and is also a member of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, Indian Institute of Chemical Engineers, Plastics & Rubber Institute. He is also a member of the Board of Governors, IIT Madras.

Mr. Sanjay Jayavarthanavelu,

Non-Executive Independent Director

He holds a Master’s degree in Business Administration from Philadelphia University, USA. Currently, he is serving as the Chairman and Managing Director of Lakshmi Machine Works and as the Chairman of Super Sales, Lakshmi Life Sciences. He is also on the Boards of several companies viz., The Lakshmi Mills Company, Lakshmi Electrical Control Systems, Quattro Engineering India Ltd., Lakshmi Cargo Company Ltd., Lakshmi Technology and Engineering Industries etc.

Mr Aroon Raman,

Non-Executive Independent Director

He holds a Master’s degree in Economics from Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi and a MBA from Wharton School, USA. He was the Managing Director of Raman Boards and Raman Fibre Science Private Limited. He was also on the Board of Sundaram Finance Limited. Besides this, he has served as the Chairman of Confederation of Indian Industry, Karnataka and is currently on the Boards of various companies including Telos Investments & Technologies Private Limited, Wheels India Limited, Brigade Enterprises Limited, TVS Automobile Solutions Private Limited and EduTech NTTF Private Limited.

Mrs. Soundara Kumar,

Non-Executive Independent Director

She holds a bachelor’s degree in Science (Mathematics) from the University of Madras and is a Certified Associate of the Indian Institute of Banking and Finance (CAIIB). She joined State Bank of India as a Direct Recruit Officer and served for more than 39 years both in India and overseas including as the Managing Director of State Bank of Indore from 2008 to 2010. She retired as Deputy Managing Director, Stressed Asset Management Group of State Bank of India. She is currently on the Boards of Ramco Systems Limited, Sundaram Trustee Company Limited, Orchid Pharma Limited, Tamil Nadu Newsprint & Papers Limited, Rajapalayam Mills Limited, Shanti Gears Limited, Sundaram BNP Paribas Fund Services Limited and Bank of Baroda.

Mr. M A M Arunachalam,

Non-Executive Director

Also referred as Mr. Arun Murugappan, he is an MBA graduate from the University of Chicago. He is the Managing Director of Parry Enterprises India Limited. A fourth generation member of the Murugappa family, he drives the business development and strategic initiatives for the Company by identifying opportunities for its divisions – General Marketing Division (GMD), Parry Travels and Tuflex India. He is also on the Board of Coromandel Engineering Company Limited.

Mr. P S Raghavan,

Non-Executive Independent Director

He holds a Bachelor’s degree in Physics from St. Stephen’s college, Delhi as well as in Electronics & Communications Engineering from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. He joined the Indian Foreign Service in 1979 and has held various diplomatic assignments in Moscow, Warsaw (Poland), London (UK), Ho Chi Minh City (Vietnam) and Pretoria (South Africa). He has also held several esteemed positions such as the Joint Secretary in the Prime Minister’s Office dealing with Foreign Affairs, Nuclear Energy, Space, Defence and National Security; Secretary in the Ministry of External Affairs and as the Indian Ambassador to countries like Russia, Ireland and Czech Republic etc. He is presently, the Convenor of National Security Advisory Board of India of the National Security Council Secretariat of the Government of India.

Mr. Sujjain S Talwar,

Non-Executive Independent Director

He is a qualified solicitor in India and England & Wales. He has over 25 years of experience as a corporate and infrastructure solicitor in India and abroad. He is the founding partner of Economics Law Practice, a law firm that has consistently been ranked as a top 10 law firm, with over 150 lawyers and offices in 6 cities. Mr. Talwar has in the past worked with reputed law firms such as Crawford Bayley, Pinsent Masons etc. He has been named as a leading individual for his ‘depth of knowledge’ ‘innovative approach’ and ‘timely deliverables’ by the Legal 500.

Mr. N Ananthaseshan,

Managing Director

He is an IITian in M. Tech Material Science from Kharagpur and also holds a Master’s degree in Applied Science. Mr. N Ananthaseshan joined CUMI as a graduate trainee in 1986 and has been with the Company since his career beginning. He was heading the Abrasives division of the Company since 2014 prior to which he was heading the Electrominerals division of the Company. Mr. Ananthaseshan possesses vast experience across business verticals of the Company. Mr. Ananthaseshan is currently on the Boards of Volzhsky Abrasives Works, Sterling Abrasives, Wendt (India), Murugappa Morgan Thermal Ceramics etc.

Management Committee