Board Of Directors

Mr. M M Murugappan, Chairman

He holds a Master’s degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of Michigan, USA. He has held the position of Managing Director of CUMI in the past. Besides serving as the Chairman of CUMI, Tube Investments of India, Cholamandalam MS General Insurance Company Limited, he is on the Boards of several companies including Mahindra & Mahindra, IIT Madras Research Park, Cyient and TI Financial Holdings Limited. Mr. Murugappan was elected as a fellow of the Indian Ceramic Society and is also a member of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, Indian Institute of Chemical Engineers, Plastics & Rubber Institute. He is also a member of the Board of Governors, IIT Madras.

Mr. T L Palani Kumar, Non-Executive Independent Director

He is a Graduate in Chemical Engineering from IIT, Madras and a Post Graduate (Diploma) in Business Administration from IIM, Ahmedabad. He has served as the Chief Executive Officer of Escorts Tractors Limited & New Holland Tractors Private Limited and as the Managing Director of Bharat Aluminium Company Limited. He is also on the Board of SBI Capital Markets, Fostiima Integrated Learning Resources Private Limited.

Mr. Sanjay Jayavarthanavelu, Non-Executive Independent Director

He holds a Master’s degree in Business Administration from Philadelphia University, USA. Currently, he is serving as the Chairman and Managing Director of Lakshmi Machine Works and as the Chairman of Super Sales, Lakshmi Life Sciences and Quattro Engineering India. He is also on the Boards of several companies viz., The Lakshmi Mills Company, Lakshmi Technology and Engineering Industries etc.

Mr Aroon Raman, Non-Executive Independent Director

He holds a Master’s degree in Economics from Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi and a MBA from Wharton School, USA. He was the Managing Director of Raman Boards and Raman Fibre Science Private Limited. He was also on the Board of Sundaram Finance Limited. Besides this, he has served as the Chairman of Confederation of Indian Industry, Karnataka and is currently on the Boards of various companies including Telos Investments & Technologies Private Limited, Wheels India Limited, Brigade Enterprises Limited, TVS Automobile Solutions Private Limited and EduTech NTTF Private Limited.

Ms. Bharati Rao, Non-Executive Independent Director

She holds a Master’s degree in Economics and is a Certified Associate of the Indian Institute of Bankers. She brings in over three-decades of rich experience in Banking and Finance. Having joined State Bank of India in the year 1972, she rose to become its Deputy Managing Director, holding concurrent charge of few of its associate banks and non-banking subsidiaries besides being an Advisor for mergers and acquisitions.

She is also on the Boards of Tata Teleservices, Cholamandalam Investment and Finance Company, SBI Capital Markets, SBI Caps (UK), Wheels India Limited, Can Fin Homes Limited etc.

Mr. M A M Arunachalam, Non-Executive Director

Also referred as Mr. Arun Murugappan, he is an MBA graduate from the University of Chicago. He is the Managing Director of Parry Enterprises India Limited. A fourth generation member of the Murugappa family, he drives the business development and strategic initiatives for the Company by identifying opportunities for its divisions – General Marketing Division (GMD), Parry Travels and Tuflex India. He is also on the Board of Coromandel Engineering Company Limited.

Mr. P S Raghavan, Non-Executive Independent Director

He holds a Bachelor’s degree in Physics from St. Stephen’s college, Delhi as well as in Electronics & Communications Engineering from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. He joined the Indian Foreign Service in 1979 and has held various diplomatic assignments in Moscow, Warsaw (Poland), London (UK), Ho Chi Minh City (Vietnam) and Pretoria (South Africa). He has also held several esteemed positions such as the Joint Secretary in the Prime Minister’s Office dealing with Foreign Affairs, Nuclear Energy, Space, Defence and National Security; Secretary in the Ministry of External Affairs and as the Indian Ambassador to countries like Russia, Ireland and Czech Republic etc. He is presently, the Convenor of National Security Advisory Board of India of the National Security Council Secretariat of the Government of India.

Mr. Sujjain S Talwar, Non-Executive Independent Director

He is a qualified solicitor in India and England & Wales. He has over 25 years of experience as a corporate and infrastructure solicitor in India and abroad. He is the founding partner of Economics Law Practice, a law firm that has consistently been ranked as a top 10 law firm, with over 150 lawyers and offices in 6 cities. Mr. Talwar has in the past worked with reputed law firms such as Crawford Bayley, Pinsent Masons etc. He has been named as a leading individual for his ‘depth of knowledge’ ‘innovative approach’ and ‘timely deliverables’ by the Legal 500.

Mr. K Srinivasan, Managing Director

He is a Graduate in Mechanical Engineering from REC, Surathkal, Karnataka. He was the Vice President of Wendt India Limited. He has been associated with the Company since 1999 and was part of the team that set up the first overseas operations in Australia.

He is currently on the Boards of Wendt India Limited, Sterling Abrasives Limited and Volzhsky Abrasive Works etc.


CUMI’s Management Committee, steers the organisation to meet overall objectives within the boundaries set by the Board of Directors. The Committee comprises: K Srinivasan - Managing Director,

N Ananthaseshan President - Abrasives

He has completed his M.Sc (Applied Sciences) & M Tech Material Sciences from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur. He has over 24 years of experience in Electro Minerals & Abrasives. He is with CUMI since 1987.

Rajesh Khanna President - Ceramics

He is a Mechanical Engineer from The National Institute of Technology, Raipur. He has over 30 years of experience. He is with CUMI since 2012.

P S Jayan Executive Vice President - Electrominerals

A Chemical Engineer by qualification, he during the 30 years of his service with CUMI has spearheaded several innovations for the Company.

M Muthiah Executive Vice President – HR

He is an alumni of the Madurai Institute of Social Work, Madurai and a Masters in Business Administration with over 26 years of experience in the industry. He has been with CUMI since 2003.

Jagannathan Chakravarthi Narasimhan Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

He is a Chartered Accountant, a Cost Accountant and holds a Bachelor’s degree in Commerce. He has over 20 years of experience in finance and accounts across IT, Telecom and manufacturing industries.

Committee Composition

Terms of Reference - Appointment of Independent Director

Notice for Candidature (2017)

Murugappa Group Abrasives & Ceramics Manufacturers